Skip to content

NaNoWriMo 2012

October 23, 2012
tags:

So you won’t be seeing any new flash fiction from me for awhile as I have chosen to dive into the insanity that is NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month, 50,000 words in 30 days, hell yeah baby). I participated in 2009 and won in 25 days. It was awesome. I had so much fun and got so burned out. This year I’ve spent a lot more time plotting and planning and hope to make more steady progress (more 1,500 word days, less 7,000 word days) and end up with a more cohesive first draft than I did the last time around (especially since the ’09 “novel” is still sitting unedited on my hard drive).

Win or lose, any words are better than no words. I’ll keep this post updated with my progress as I go along (see the pretty widget!).

If you’d like to add me as a buddy, you can find me here: Dannigrrl

And, if you’d like to know what I’m writing, here’s the synopsis:

Fallon Cade doesn’t just dream of getting out of her small town, she busts her ass to be the top softball player this season, ensuring the offer of a scholarship–her one-way ticket out. Her plan is shot to hell when her dad, a teacher at her high school, is busted sleeping with one of Fallon’s classmates. When the student is expelled and Fallon’s dad is fired and moves one hundred miles away, Fallon is stranded in an angry town with nowhere else to vent their rage than at the girl who’s left behind. Her mom demands a transfer to a new district, but Fallon would have to give up her sports eligibility. No softball, no scholarship, no freedom. Now she must face the consequences her father ran away from or abandon the only dream she’s ever had.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2012 9:42 PM

    Good luck! I’ll cheer you on even though I’m not nanoing! Looks like a solid plan to me.

  2. October 24, 2012 9:05 AM

    Good luck, Danni! I’m gonna head over to Nanowrimo and buddy you right now so we can share in all the psychosis!

  3. alisonwells permalink
    October 26, 2012 1:54 PM

    Definitely a good idea to plot. I’ve done nano three times, the last time was by far the easiest as I had a short story written that served as an outline. Good luck. Not sure if I’ll be doing it but will buddy if I do.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

