Skip to content

Failed

January 31, 2013

I attended a writing workshop last weekend and we were given the following quote as a prompt.

“Every day something has tried to kill me and has failed.” – Lucille Clifton

Failed

The red hot poker

of your rage

stabbing through my joy

stabbing through my heart

searing every memory

with your fire

your self-hate

your need to destroy

singeing my soul

flaking away my hope

scattering it to the winds

of your rage

but still

I stand

singed and scarred

burning and scared

you have failed

and still I stand

***

You can read Lucille Clifton’s poem in its entirety here: Won’t You Celebrate With Me

14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2013 12:00 PM

    But you managed to make a poem out of it! ;)

  2. January 31, 2013 2:12 PM

    I like how you show one persons anger, rage and self destruction can distroy the happiness and memories of those around them. A lot of emotion in this one. Good job.

  3. January 31, 2013 2:31 PM

    I think that was clever to turn that into a poem – nice work!

  4. Cindi permalink
    January 31, 2013 2:40 PM

    Whoa. I read it really fast, then had to go back again. Powerful.

  5. ganymeder permalink
    January 31, 2013 5:19 PM

    Ooh, very nice. Visceral, and I love the rhythm.

  6. January 31, 2013 9:39 PM

    I swear, it wasn’t my poker. I was renting it to an underprivileged family, and, well, time makes fools of us all.

  7. February 1, 2013 12:38 AM

    That which doesn’t kill us make us stronger – Friedrich Nietzsche.

    Loved just how much emotion went into this poem

  8. February 1, 2013 7:45 AM

    So defiant!

  9. adampb permalink
    February 1, 2013 2:13 PM

    Nice work, Danni.
    Adam B @revhappiness

  10. February 1, 2013 3:32 PM

    Lucille Clifton is the best. She’s my favorite poet.
    This is a really nice poem. :)

  11. February 2, 2013 3:40 AM

    I hope this isn’t autobiographical – although if it is, you’re certainly coming out on top!

  12. February 3, 2013 6:36 AM

    Very strong and evocative Danielle.

    This makes me think of the self-destructive nature of one half of a relationship, through alcohol, drugs, mental health problems or such, and the struggle of the other partner to survive, and possibly eradicate the results of the problem.

  13. Deanna Schrayer permalink
    February 7, 2013 1:30 PM

    Dani, I’ve felt exactly this way before so I can say with certainty that you have the emotion down-pat, and show it to us beautifully. Well done!

  14. February 27, 2013 8:48 PM

    This story is written short and it goes to show that small things carry very powerful meaning. i can help but identify with this story. thanks danni for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

