Skip to content

The Ties That Bind

February 27, 2014

knots in my stomach when the car door shuts
I drop my dishes in the sink and scurry to my room
before his mood makes an appearance

knots jerked free
with endless strokes through hair
tousled from another sleepless night

knot after knot slipped slowly down threads
of green and black and burgundy and grey
friendships tied together on a wrist

a knot of guilt in my chest
sulking in the back pew
praying to God his eyes don’t land on me

double knots pulled tight in worn Keds
before running after the boys
always after; never with

a satin knot in the bow at my back
cinching my Sunday dress
like a noose

knots of anger in my every fiber
so much destroyed for so little return
so many decisions that dismantled our home
before it was ever complete

20 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2014 4:13 PM

    Poignant, intimate, and well observed. Welcome back, Danni. :-)

  2. Jax permalink
    February 27, 2014 5:54 PM

    I’ve missed your fic. Such a bittersweet mix of images!

  3. Ian O'Neill permalink
    February 27, 2014 7:15 PM

    Powerful imagery. Wow. Thanks for sharing your talents.

  4. ganymeder permalink
    February 27, 2014 8:01 PM

    Very sad, but so well done.

  5. February 27, 2014 9:00 PM

    Oh man, it’s the specific detail of the Keds that brings the piece forward. Another sad existence begging for deliverance. It’s the sort of thing that keeps reminding me to try to be a better person.

    Welcome back, Danni!

  6. February 28, 2014 12:11 AM

    my kind of writing where you take a simple image, that of a knot, and then twist and examine it from every angle and facet. This is literally a taut knot of knottedness! Welcome back

    • February 28, 2014 9:23 AM

      Thank you, Marc. I attended a writing workshop last weekend called “Writing from Place and Identity.” We were challenged to write something repeating a word or phrase that has been constant in our lives. It was good therapy. Untying the knottyness one line at a time.

  7. Deanna Schrayer permalink
    February 28, 2014 6:00 AM

    Outstanding imagery here Dani! I particularly like “friendships tied together on a wrist”.
    So great to have you back!

  8. February 28, 2014 9:56 AM

    The bow in the church dress is what “tied” it together for me. Sooooo good to have you back!

  9. February 28, 2014 1:35 PM

    A powerful piece Dani, She is certainly living a tormented existence.

    Nice to see you posting Dani, I hope all is good with you. :)

  10. March 1, 2014 7:35 AM

    Wonderful use of the knot as a recurrent image!

  11. March 1, 2014 1:37 PM

    Ah it’s the knots that screw you up, very well written Danni, very visual and yet a little sad.

  12. March 2, 2014 3:53 PM

    I am deeply touched by these “ties that bind”. Each one expressing a different pain in the binding. The visuals gave me a window into the soul of the person and left me wondering if there was any hope of a binding tie that would bring joy and overcome the ache the others left behind. Wonderfully expressed, friend. I too am glad you are back.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

