Skip to content

Passion

November 18, 2010

Aroma spills through the air
Spices nip at my nose and
Curl around my tongue
Warming me
Enticing me
My stomach knots with desire
My mouth waters as I seek out my treasure
My heart trips as I round the corner
He stands in the kitchen
Face determined, lips drawn tight
Hands working, cutting, grating, stirring, mixing
He glances up
Light dances in his dark eyes
A smile splits his lips
And he offers me a taste

Carlos’ passion for cooking rivals my passion for writing. As some of you have seen on Facebook, the man cooks incredible meals. It’s only one of the many reasons I love him. I am truly blessed to have him in my life.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2010 12:20 PM

    Wow!!!!!!!!!! Did I miss THAT one. I thought you were getting ready to have sex. Well, both passions are a bit similar. Great tribute to your honey. It’s Great!

  2. November 18, 2010 12:30 PM

    Fantastic. I could imagine being there waiting for dinner!

  3. Misty permalink
    November 18, 2010 12:53 PM

    I knew it was about food because I’m constantly wishing I lived closer so Carlos could cook for me too!

    Well done on writing and picking a good man. 🙂

  4. November 18, 2010 12:57 PM

    Pieces like this serve to remind me just how depraved my mind can be. I’ll not tell where I thought we were headed, but only say bravo on a job well done…even if it was a little stomach turning in its sweetness. 😛

  5. Deanna Schrayer permalink
    November 18, 2010 1:26 PM

    This is so well written Danielle. I can feel your love for his amazing talents. 🙂

  6. November 18, 2010 2:09 PM

    Oh my gosh. I love him too! This is so perfect because it’s so him. Way to go, Idaho. 🙂

  7. Livy Parker permalink
    November 18, 2010 3:55 PM

    Well… what was he cooking? Seriously, I want to know 🙂

    Good work, though: the rising tension/passion was well drawn out.

    Wish I could have a cook like that *sigh*

  8. November 18, 2010 4:20 PM

    The smells, spicy, delightful…hmmm I was half expecting a little ‘9 1/2 weeks’ LOL Especially with a title ‘Passion’. Beautiful Danni! I’d love to have a man that cooks for me. You’re very blessed! 🙂

  9. November 18, 2010 4:52 PM

    Very sensuous.
    Adam B @revhappiness

  10. November 18, 2010 6:13 PM

    Huh. What does it say about me that I knew it was food right off? Maybe that I know you too well LOL. Beautifully done 🙂

  11. November 18, 2010 8:54 PM

    So, am I deviant for having thought this was about food from the beginning? Darn my broken libido.

    Confused face.

    • November 19, 2010 3:32 PM

      Don’t worry, John. You and Sel had it right. I wasn’t going for sex, but food can be sensual.

  12. November 19, 2010 2:57 AM

    Poetically tasty. Inspires me to both writing and cooking!

  13. November 19, 2010 7:48 AM

    Excellent descriptions! Nothing better than being in a house with something delicious cooking.

  14. November 19, 2010 9:41 AM

    Now I’m starving! Great piece!

  15. November 19, 2010 10:34 AM

    What a tribute! I hope you read it aloud to him…as you munch his food!

  16. November 19, 2010 1:20 PM

    Love this line in particular – “Spices nip at my nose and
    Curl around my tongue”. Perfectly conveys taste!!!

  17. November 19, 2010 1:20 PM

    Wow, I would be thrilled if my wife wrote something like that about me. You did a great job with this one. The words flowed beautifully, and led to a strong ending (I was going to say “climax”, but, er. . .). Good job!

  18. November 19, 2010 3:33 PM

    Thank you for letting me share a bit of my personal life with you all this week and thank you for the wonderful comments.

  19. DianeG permalink
    November 19, 2010 5:32 PM

    Appetizing!

  20. November 20, 2010 5:41 AM

    Very nice! Food is my passion as well (I like to eat it, not cook it though;)- and to connect to someone you love is amazing! Well done!

  21. November 20, 2010 6:21 AM

    Beautiful!

  22. Carlos permalink
    November 20, 2010 9:00 PM

    Whether it’s the Chorizo con Papas burritos or Carne con Papas for breakfast. Barbacoa con Frijoles Puercos, Tostadas, Gorditas, Shredded Beef Tacos, Fire Roasted Salsa or Spanish Rice for dinner, I cook for you with the same passion that you write with. Thank you for this. (You had me at. . . “I’m hungry! What’s for dinner?”) LOL

  23. November 21, 2010 4:58 AM

    Wow, you really whipped us into a feeding frenzy with that one, Danielle!

  24. February 14, 2011 6:51 PM

    Huh, I figured it was the food, not the cook, that you were falling for there. 😀

Leave a Reply

