Skip to content

Frozen

December 2, 2010

Photo by Sandy Morrison

I cowered at the foot of your rage
Shivering in your icy shadow
Praying for the warmth of the sun
Fearing the exposure of day
Whispering prayers, muffling tears
Waiting for a miracle

Frostbite burned my fingertips
Seared across my flesh
Nerves flayed and numb
Ice infused my veins
Freezing my heart
Freeing my mind

Now I stand strong
Solid as stone
Ears frozen to your wrath
Eyes blinded to your fury
Skin numb to your fists

Your rage burns
And I laugh
As it fizzles
At my icy feet

31 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2010 12:22 PM

    Loved the fire meets ice imagery. Beautifully lyrical.

  2. Deanna Schrayer permalink
    December 2, 2010 1:26 PM

    This is simply fabulous Danielle! So much imagery in so few words. Very well done!

  3. December 2, 2010 1:51 PM

    “Now I stand strong” – Great line. This is a stunning piece, Danni.

  4. Livy Parker permalink
    December 2, 2010 2:40 PM

    Love this bit:
    Now I stand strong
    Solid as stone
    Ears frozen to your wrath
    Eyes blinded to your fury
    Skin numb to your fists

    and you’re right, that picture is gorgeous:)

  5. December 2, 2010 2:48 PM

    You’re turning into quite the poet. I really like this one, great imagery and use of language. I’m in awe. Well done.

  6. adampb permalink
    December 2, 2010 3:56 PM

    Loved the dichotomy of fire and ice. Beautiful.
    Adam B @revhappiness

  7. December 2, 2010 6:10 PM

    Love the fire and ice imagery. Outstanding. Powerful.:)

  8. December 2, 2010 7:18 PM

    Every line beautfully written…artistic, beautiful, powerful, and wonderful imagery! This is something new…I liked it! 🙂

  9. December 2, 2010 7:20 PM

    I should have explained that better-not something new in that it was beautifully written, but it’s a different style. Well done!

  10. Mikey permalink
    December 2, 2010 7:33 PM

    What a journey. I see the starting line and the finish line. Way to grow. Beautiful piece!

    • December 2, 2010 9:23 PM

      Thanks, Mikey. I appreciate you stopping by to comment. Love you.

  11. December 2, 2010 8:08 PM

    Pat is right. Different, but always beautifully written. 🙂

  12. December 2, 2010 9:26 PM

    Thank you guys for your wonderful comments and thank you for letting me stray from usual #fridayflash format the last few weeks. I promise to be back to my “usual” next week.

  13. December 3, 2010 1:16 AM

    Loving the poetry! This really captures the feeling of a sensation. And it says ‘icy’ so I’m happy. ^_^

  14. December 3, 2010 1:55 AM

    Your analogies are perfect. I could feel it, even. Brr. Incredible poetry.

  15. December 3, 2010 2:47 AM

    fire and ice mixed together very well here!

  16. December 3, 2010 8:44 AM

    I have to agree with everyone on the power of the fire and ice imagery in this. Good poetic tale!

  17. December 3, 2010 8:51 AM

    Gorgeous imagery!

  18. December 3, 2010 8:58 AM

    “I cowered at the foot of your rage” Awesome set up line. Great piece. Loved it!

  19. December 3, 2010 9:03 AM

    Thanks for this Danielle, great imagery and above all else entertaining.

  20. December 3, 2010 9:03 AM

    painful…the thought, not the writing!

  21. December 3, 2010 9:07 AM

    So you’re a fine poet, too. I’m not surprised. I love the sense of victory and becoming impervious to the emotional abuse at the end. Grow past that demon, MC!

    And yes, the imagery is beautiful and powerful. Excellent! ❤

  22. December 3, 2010 11:35 AM

    Fire and water/ice is one of my favorite visual contrasts. And I’m learning to absolutely love your poetry 🙂

  23. December 3, 2010 2:31 PM

    I love that picture! The poem is awesome too! Great job!

  24. December 3, 2010 3:42 PM

    I’m all for strength in the face of jerks. Maybe a sequel poem can be about finding a better man. Probably tick him off worse than defiance – this guy’s better in bed!

    Smiley face

  25. December 3, 2010 8:16 PM

    Evocative and beautiful (even though the subject was dark). I liked the last two lines especially, a perfect blending of the extremes and expression of newfound power.

  26. December 4, 2010 8:30 AM

    Very good, Danni. Gripped me from the first line. Very good fire/ice imagery. You have a flair for poetry. There’s not a wasted word in the whole thing.

  27. Kelly Metz permalink
    December 4, 2010 9:24 AM

    Oh how I’ve missed reading your flashes, Danni! Loved it!

  28. December 4, 2010 7:28 PM

    Joining the choir to say I find the fire and ice juxtaposition intriguing! Nice piece.

  29. December 5, 2010 7:25 PM

    I read this to my brother and his wife they didn’t understand at first but I read it again and they were amazed Danny you are awesome

Leave a Reply

