Skip to content

For the Love of Wine

December 16, 2010

Photo by Angie La Paglia McNeill
Fortunado’s muscles jerked him awake, but the wine held his lids closed tight. The moldy air he breathed curled around his tongue and settled deep in his lungs, heavy and damp. A dull scraping grated against his ears. Cold stone pressed against his back, chilling him to his core.

He shivered and tried to move forward, away from the cool block, but something held him in place. He moved his leg and shifted his hips, but again he met resistance. Blinking hard he rubbed a hand across his face pushing back the effects of the wine.

The wine.

His pulse spiked. His eyes flew open, instantly sober. Fingers numb from the cold jerked and fumbled with the chain around his waist.

“Montresor! Montresor!” he called.

The only answer was the slap of mud and the scrape of a trowel. He couldn’t see his friend behind the ever growing wall, but the sounds of Montresor’s labor gave him away.

The room grew darker with each brick placed; Fortunado jerked and yelled and moaned and cried until his throat ached and his lungs burned.

“Montresor,” he whispered.

“Nemo me impune lacessit.*” Montresor replied. “Rest in peace my friend.” And the last brick slid home.

*no one attacks me with impunity
A tribute to Edgar Allan Poe’s “The Cask of Amontillado

34 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2010 1:10 PM

    Very nice. Love Poe’s story and this is a wonderful tribute to everything he has inspired over the last century.

  2. December 16, 2010 2:19 PM

    What a great tribute to the mighty Poe. I did get the creepy feeling what was going on but it was so beautifully done!

  3. December 16, 2010 2:46 PM

    Ahhh for the love of wine when will you stop being so great… I’m so jealous lol I love this story I’m not sure but if this is my fave but it is on my top five great job

  4. December 16, 2010 3:07 PM

    Oh, very chilling. Excellent tribute!

  5. December 16, 2010 3:42 PM

    This is one of my favorite Poe stories, and you do it justice. Neat to see the ending scene from Fortunado’s perspective.

  6. December 16, 2010 4:16 PM

    In a word: Poe-worthy. Well done, sis.

  7. December 16, 2010 4:44 PM

    Love it. Very nice description and the beginning hooked me in. Strong beginnings always do that to me.

  8. December 16, 2010 6:20 PM

    What a suffocating ending!

  9. December 16, 2010 6:53 PM

    “The moldy air he breathed curled around his tongue and settled deep in his lungs, heavy and damp.” Love that line.

    Great piece, as always 🙂

  10. December 16, 2010 8:17 PM

    Wow! I just thought he fell asleep in the wine cellar until the names sunk in. Maybe I need a nap…or wine. 🙂

    Great as always, sis! 🙂

  11. December 16, 2010 9:17 PM

    I remember when I used to be the first commenter on your #fridayflashes. Now I get here around midnight and am always lodged somewhere in the double digits. Need to show up earlier, I assume…

    I need to go re-read The Cask. This reminded me more of The Black Cat, though maybe Poe recycled the “seal a person up somewhere” trope. With his volume, I wouldn’t be surprised.

    Smiley, but nervous, face.

  12. December 17, 2010 2:52 AM

    I’m a huge Poe fan. Great tribute!

  13. December 17, 2010 8:03 AM

    Very cool. There’s a great, sinister feeling about this story. I really must make the effort to read Poe…before someone walls me up. 😉

  14. December 17, 2010 8:12 AM

    eek! being buried alive/bricked up like that is one of my greatest phobias!! Nicely done!

  15. December 17, 2010 10:14 AM

    Who doesn’t love Poe? And you do him proud, my girl. He’s sitting outside your window right now, applauding. 🙂

    Another excellent tale!

  16. Ian permalink
    December 17, 2010 10:59 AM

    Oh yeah. This is a bone chiller for sure. Love the nod to Poe. Nice work.

    Cheers,
    Ian

  17. December 17, 2010 12:17 PM

    Nice view from the other side of the wall. Love Poe, and loved your take.

  18. December 17, 2010 3:42 PM

    Thanks for the great comments everyone. I love taking a look at existing stories from a new POV. Thanks for indulging me. 🙂

  19. December 18, 2010 2:38 AM

    Very cold and chilly tale, well written. I think there are few people who do not shudder at the thought of being buried alive.

  20. Deanna Schrayer permalink
    December 18, 2010 6:15 AM

    Very well told Danielle, I felt rather breathless with that last line. Fabulous descriptions!

  21. December 18, 2010 7:06 AM

    Mm… wine. Oh wait. 😉 Great tribute to The Cask of Amontillado. I love seeing Poe characters alive and well today (well, for a while).

  22. December 18, 2010 4:18 PM

    Great idea. Suffocating just reading it.

  23. December 18, 2010 7:29 PM

    That glimpse from behind the wall is nice tribute to Poe That is probably my most favourite Poe tale.

  24. Mikey permalink
    December 19, 2010 12:28 AM

    Not many would dare touch the dark poe, but you worked it masterfully. Great job!

  25. December 19, 2010 5:42 AM

    A spine chilling story told in so few lines with the impact of a whole story. So powerful Danni…buried alive is so frightening! 🙂

  26. December 20, 2010 6:50 AM

    Chilling and a wonderful piece. Sorry to be late to the party but with the KA shutdown. Didn’t get round in time. Look forward to your next one,

    Gareth

  27. DianeG permalink
    December 21, 2010 2:03 PM

    Well done!

    Poe would be proud.

  28. adampb permalink
    December 22, 2010 3:13 AM

    Great tribute and delightfully creepy.
    Adam B @revhappiness

  29. December 23, 2010 6:17 PM

    You more than did Poe proud. Love your take on this Poe classic. Happy Christmas! Peace…

  30. December 23, 2010 6:21 PM

    Nice tribute to Poe. 🙂

  31. December 24, 2010 8:54 AM

    Think I will be switching to beer from now on.
    Nice one.
    Colin

  32. December 27, 2010 4:34 PM

    One of my very favorite Poe stories – nice to see it from the other side of the brick wall!

  33. December 27, 2010 4:47 PM

    Nice flip of perspective on a memorable tale.

Trackbacks

  1. Our Twitter Flash Five: December 20, 2010 | Franky Benítez

Leave a Reply

