Skip to content

A Time To Be Born

March 3, 2011

I am starting a new series based on Ecclesiastes 3:1-11, A Time For Everything. The plan is to write 8-10 stories from various verses (not necessarily in order). We’ll see where this new theme takes us.

Click here or the A Time For Everything tab at the top of the page for a complete list of stories.

Photo by Owl Sisters Photography
A TIME TO BE BORN

He holds his wife’s hand as she bears down, grimacing in a pain he can only imagine. Sweat trickles down her temple, matching the stream pouring down his own.

I’m not ready for this.

She grunts and squeezes until his fingers turn red, bulging like sausages ready to pop. He never knew how much strength was in those hands, that body, this woman. He bites the inside of his cheek and stares on like a fool. Nothing to say. Nothing to do. But be by her side as she clings to him, and wait.

Cheeks flushed, eyes glistening, she is the most beautiful thing he’s ever seen. He holds his tongue because he knows she would argue, thinking he’s only giving lip service to make her feel better. But what could be more beautiful than this moment? Or more frightening?

I can’t do this.

The determination in her face contradicts him.

Together we can.

A final agonizing push and she collapses to the bed, loosening her grip, panting in relief. He only has a moment to take her in before the infant is laid on her chest.

His infant. His child.

His breath stops as the axis of his world shifts. A new reality bursts to life, centered forevermore on the tiny miracle clutched in his wife’s arms.

Please read the sister-story, A Time To Be Die.

33 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2011 12:27 PM

    That’s so sweet. I love how he’s completely not ready, but then he’s awestruck. Usually birth scenes are from the mother’s point of view or glossed over because it’s too pain filled not always physically beautiful, so this was a nice change.

    Can’t wait to see what else you have in store for this series.

  2. March 3, 2011 12:33 PM

    Beautiful! So well written! It really is ture how it all changes. Even for me where the marriage ended, the child is still what matters. That doesn’t change.

    I’m so glad I could lend a photo of my beautiful niece and her daddy!

  3. March 3, 2011 1:19 PM

    Very nice Danni. Takes me back, and honestly you captured it well- I was scared to death, but once she was here I knew my life would never be the same. It’s better, meaningful. Thanks for the perspective. Well done!

  4. March 3, 2011 2:02 PM

    The emotion is there as is the sentiment which makes it an emotional piece. Nicely written and something thats going to be interesting to see where the other parts take you as a writer.

  5. March 3, 2011 5:01 PM

    The miracle of life, masterfully described here.

  6. March 3, 2011 6:13 PM

    This was very well done. I’ve been there a couple of times, although Mrs. Fetched had C-sections.

    Something I was actually asked shortly after the birth of The Boy: “Hey — you ever seen a uterus?”

  7. March 3, 2011 9:40 PM

    Immediately sets you a world away from the sin series. I’m all for sentimentality in fiction. Sentiment has to be dealt with smartly, the same as reason – and you do that well here. Gave me a…

    #smileyface

  8. March 4, 2011 5:23 AM

    Aw, that’s beautiful. We often hear about the sudden burst of love a mother has, but you’ve captured the father’s feelings perfectly.

  9. Dawn permalink
    March 4, 2011 7:22 AM

    Beautiful 🙂

  10. March 4, 2011 10:01 AM

    I adored this story, such a wonderful perspective to see things from the man’s point of view. Too often they are left out. This was wonderful, thank you so much for your post. 🙂 **goes to get tissue and kiss hubby…***

  11. March 4, 2011 10:17 AM

    I love the end! Beautiful.

  12. March 4, 2011 10:46 AM

    I love how the moment makes him see her in a new light. So sweet! Nicely done!

  13. March 4, 2011 11:32 AM

    Excellent story. Very sweet and captured real emotions very well.

  14. Ian permalink
    March 4, 2011 12:16 PM

    Lovely. I think you’ve captured that tug between want and readiness. It’s terrifying. Nice job.

  15. March 4, 2011 1:11 PM

    Danni, this is beautiful. It brought memories of my children’s births back to me. You really captured a father’s feelings perfectly. If this is the start, I can tell this is going to be a very well-done series. Good work. It really tugged at my heart.

  16. March 4, 2011 2:34 PM

    Beautifully written from the father’s POV. His apprehension and fear disapate as the child is born and you’ve described it perfectly. 🙂

  17. March 4, 2011 3:21 PM

    Beautiful. What a great idea for a series of stories…

  18. March 4, 2011 3:45 PM

    Excellent work here. And a really intriguing idea for a series.

    The emotional impact of this story is terrific. You captured the whole gamut that runs through a father’s mind at such a time.

    Really well done.

  19. March 4, 2011 6:11 PM

    Great job. The last line sums it up so well. “A new reality bursts to life…”

  20. March 4, 2011 7:27 PM

    You captured the man feeling helpless and the woman unaware of her power. A timeless moment in every life. Nice.

  21. March 4, 2011 8:54 PM

    Simply beautiful.

  22. March 5, 2011 7:41 AM

    Such a sweet piece! I’m not a father, so I can only imagine the fear that he’s feeling, only to have it overcome by beauty of his newborn. Great job!

  23. March 5, 2011 9:41 AM

    amazingly beautiful

  24. March 5, 2011 9:58 AM

    That’s lovely and realistic at the same time. I doubt most future fathers felt ready before they saw their children be born. Excellent story, Dani!

  25. adampb permalink
    March 6, 2011 3:50 AM

    You have captured the ecstasy of the moment for a father, coupled with the feeling of complete helplessness. Beautiful.
    Adam B @revhappiness

  26. March 7, 2011 12:24 PM

    A huge thanks to everyone for stopping by and reading the first story in my new series. I hope you all enjoy it as much as the last one.

  27. March 8, 2011 7:13 AM

    This is absolutely beautiful. YOu really captured the range of emotion that takes place in those few moments.

  28. laradunning permalink
    March 9, 2011 11:02 AM

    That is a great theme to work with. This story is so touching. It is great to see this moment from the man’s POV.

  29. March 9, 2011 5:08 PM

    GORGEOUS! Looking forward to the rest of these — I adore your ‘serial’ stories. Peace…

  30. March 11, 2011 3:03 PM

    Well done Dani. I’m ready to go read your newest one now. I’m very curious.

  31. Rocio permalink
    March 13, 2011 11:07 PM

    I read the second one first…loved both!

  32. March 15, 2011 5:49 AM

    Catching up, and had to see the first of this series. These are very nice pieces you’re doing.
    ~jon

  33. HunnyDanez permalink
    April 15, 2011 8:55 AM

    Wow! Where have I been? I am catching up on all of these today (I can’t get blogs at my work, but I am home today!)… this one is so amazing!

Leave a Reply

