Skip to content

A Time To Scatter Stones

March 17, 2011

This is the third story in my series based on Ecclesiastes 3:1-11, A Time For Everything.

Click here or the A Time For Everything tab at the top of the page for a complete list of stories.

Photo by Sandy Morrison
A Time To Scatter Stones

John stood at the bank of the river staring out at the glassy water. He squinted his eyes against the reflection of the bright sun and billowing clouds. A breeze whispered across the surface sending tiny ripples dancing across the water. The smell of moss and moist earth blended with the sweet scent of fresh blossoms. The burdens of life faded as he soaked it in the peace of the day.

“Look, Dad. This one’s perfect.” His son held up a grey stone for his inspection, the edges worn smooth by water’s gentle hand.
“It sure is.” John picked a stone for himself and asked, “Are you ready?”

An eager smile lit his son’s face and danced in his eyes.

John nodded feeling the weight of the stone in his hand as he turned to the river and took aim. A twist of the elbow, a flick of the wrist, and the stone hopped three times across the water before plunking down several yards out.

“My turn!” His son edged closer to the water and let his stone fly, jumping triumphantly when it made it past the spot his father’s had dropped.

John stood on the bank for hours, laughing, talking, skipping stones, wishing the day would never end.

Please read the sister-story, A Time To Gather Stones.

27 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2011 1:46 PM

    Nicely done! I know this feeling. I could spend hours skipping stones. Such a feeling of peace.

  2. March 17, 2011 2:28 PM

    Beautiful, calm way to spend the afternoon!

    I sort of know the feeling. I watched Jeff and Owen skip stones for a long time. Very peaceful and I just smiled a lot. 🙂

    You captured the moment perfectly, as always!

  3. March 17, 2011 3:26 PM

    Idyylic. Captures the rarest moments in life, the ones spent with the quiet peace of simple pleasures and family. 🙂

  4. March 17, 2011 3:58 PM

    Lovely story, Dani. An emotional rest from the traumas of birth and death. 🙂

  5. March 17, 2011 7:18 PM

    A lovely afternoon, father and son at the water having some fun. The burdens of life fading, indeed!

  6. March 17, 2011 10:23 PM

    Aww. I thought for sure you were going to kill the Me-John. I actually just got good times!

    satisfiedface relievedface facetooroundpickedupandthrownacrossthewaterface

  7. March 18, 2011 5:27 AM

    I used to do this a lot with my Dad when I lived in Cumbria (the Lake District), and had many a happy hour whiled away. Wonderfully written and a look into a private moment that comes across beautifully without leaving the reader feeling obtrusive.

  8. March 18, 2011 6:18 AM

    I love this! It’s so real and I think we’ve all done it and felt exactly that way. The peace and tranquility that comes with such simple pleasures is always one of those precious life moments. Nicely done again Danni! 🙂

  9. March 18, 2011 7:34 AM

    I really like this. Life has too few moments when things are perfect just as they are, and I think you did a fabulous job of capturing that.

  10. Ian permalink
    March 18, 2011 9:17 AM

    Sweet.

  11. March 18, 2011 10:20 AM

    A beautiful moment, Danni. I’d love to be there.

  12. Deanna Schrayer permalink
    March 18, 2011 10:34 AM

    One of my favorite, if not The favorite, activities with my sons, and you captured the feeling beautifully Dani.

  13. March 18, 2011 6:44 PM

    That’s nice. A heart warmer, really!

  14. March 18, 2011 7:26 PM

    I love the way this brings up memories so quickly. The feel of this piece is great and fits beautifully with the series.

  15. adampb permalink
    March 18, 2011 7:59 PM

    Takes me back to my childhood of skipping stones with my father and brother. It has no other reason for being except the pure joy of doing it.
    Adam B @revhappiness

  16. March 19, 2011 4:52 AM

    Awwwwwwww, a perfect Father and Son moment. 🙂

  17. March 19, 2011 5:45 AM

    Sometimes the little things in life can mean so much.

  18. Livy Parker permalink
    March 19, 2011 5:49 AM

    Love how you capture this simple moment 🙂

  19. Michelle Muto permalink
    March 19, 2011 8:26 AM

    Ah! The simple moments in life.

  20. March 20, 2011 7:19 AM

    You really captured the feel of the beach and the simple yet fun excitement of skipping stones. I’ve spent many an hour doing this with kids around any body of water. Thanks for bringing back the memories and giving me one more thing to look forward to this spring and summer.

  21. March 21, 2011 7:05 AM

    Sometimes the smallest things CAN be perfect. You’ve really captured that carefree sense of enjoyment that seems to fade when youth turns into adulthood.

  22. March 21, 2011 12:40 PM

    Moss, moist earth and blossom. This is heaven indeed. Wonderful. I feel like i’m there.

  23. March 22, 2011 12:45 PM

    Thanks everyone for stopping by to read the next story in my series. I appreciate you all taking the time comment.

  24. March 23, 2011 11:08 AM

    I enjoyed this – took me back years to when I used to teach my two boys how to skim stones across the water.
    A very calming, peaceful piece of writing – thanks.

  25. March 25, 2011 6:24 AM

    A perfect moment, perfectly captured.

  26. March 26, 2011 8:12 PM

    One wonders at the “burdens of life” that needed to fade, and the wish that the day not end.

    And I like the fact that I, the reader, is allowed the freedom to wonder.

    I loved the peace in this story that permeated every sentence.

    This is going to be a great series – it’s off to a terrific start.

  27. HunnyDanez permalink
    April 15, 2011 9:01 AM

    Can’t wait to do this with my son!!!!

Leave a Reply

