Skip to content

A Time To Heal

April 14, 2011

This is the sixth story in my series based on Ecclesiastes 3:1-11, A Time For Everything.

Click here or the A Time For Everything tab at the top of the page for a complete list of stories.

A TIME TO HEAL

Her hands trembled as she rounded the corner; her guilt weighed heavy in her gut. Old hurts and pointless arguments had kept them apart far too long. He glanced up as she walked in the room then his eyes grew wide. His body stilled. Her heart leapt as she stared into his face, frozen in shock.

Memories flashed through her mind—shoveling dirt, then holding her hand as they said goodbye to her first pet; teaching her to ride a bike and throw a right hook, just in case; skinned knees and broken hearts mended with a gentle hand and a scoop of Rocky Road.

Misunderstandings and miscommunication had brought them to this point. She’d clung to her righteous anger and his apologies had fallen on deaf ears. It was her turn to say sorry and his turn to accept or deny.

“It’s been a long time, sweetheart.” His voice shook. Heartache swirled in his eyes.

“I’m sorry, Dad.”

Her words hung in the air. She held her breath. The world seemed to stop and she was afraid it was too late. Then a smile spread across his aging face. He opened his arms wide and the world rushed back to life. Her head swam as reality set in.

Relief followed on its heels.

No more anger. No more pain. It was finally done.

Whatever happened next didn’t matter.

She was finally home.

Please read the sister-story, A Time To Kill.

27 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2011 12:12 PM

    Healing indeed!

  2. April 14, 2011 12:17 PM

    Very wrenching moment; nicely captured. Well done!

  3. April 14, 2011 12:39 PM

    Don’t make me tear up while I’m trying to work! Awesome addition to the “A Time to…” series. Being a father of a little girl, this one really struck me. Great job, Danni!

  4. April 14, 2011 12:50 PM

    A very detailed story is hidden in these few paragraphs. You have a knack for writing volumes in just a few words. Well written, Danni.

    ~Monica

  5. April 14, 2011 2:38 PM

    Well done Danni, as usual. Lots of emotion in this one.

  6. laradunning permalink
    April 14, 2011 3:13 PM

    So true to life. Very touching.

  7. April 14, 2011 3:18 PM

    Wow. I didn’t see that coming from the previous entry.

    Well done as always, sis! I can’t wait for next week! 🙂

  8. April 14, 2011 9:35 PM

    Should I comment on this now?

    Ehhh…

    Maybe Saturday.

    Maybe Sunday.

    What Danni said was hurtful. The teasing. The goading when I wasn’t even home.

    But then… it is a time for healing. It says so in the title. Maybe she’s trying to tell me something.

    Does she want to come to my home? No, that’s probably too literal.

    What do I say in my comment? Oh God, I’m not the seventh commenter anymore. Screw first.

    Maybe I’ll say it’s good? That’ll sound so pat.

    Screw it, I’ll comment later.

    #healedface

  9. April 15, 2011 4:32 AM

    Sometimes the first step is the hardest, but once you’ve done it, it all comes good in the end.

    Wonderful story. So full of hope.

  10. April 15, 2011 6:18 AM

    Very heartwarming! Saying sorry is one of the hardest things for me to do. This piece really touched me.

  11. April 15, 2011 8:27 AM

    A great story Danni.
    A poignant reminder to us all about how important the word ‘sorry’ is.

  12. April 15, 2011 8:28 AM

    You have put so much emotion into this, it really doesn’t matter what has gone on between them. The sentiments are universal to us all in some way, which is why it resonates.

  13. April 15, 2011 8:31 AM

    I love ‘old hurts’ so much. Beautiful sentiment, John.

  14. April 15, 2011 8:41 AM

    Reads very nicely – I like your flow.

  15. Ian permalink
    April 15, 2011 8:46 AM

    Wonderful. One of your best.

  16. HunnyDanez permalink
    April 15, 2011 9:05 AM

    You have no idea how this one hit me. If it could reach my Father as it did me…………… wow. So good.

  17. April 15, 2011 9:18 AM

    You’ve managed to make me misty at work. Good job.

  18. April 15, 2011 11:24 AM

    When people mention healing it always seems to be a bodily one rather than a spiritual. Well done for going that route as the emotional can linger longer than the phsyical. Nicely written, beautifully worded and above all else striking alongside getting to the heart of the matter in a relatively short piece of fiction clearly drawing the reader in. A real gift.

  19. April 15, 2011 3:14 PM

    Thank you all so much for your comments today. As Gareth said, I was going to with a physical healing, but this just sort of happened and I liked it so much better. I’m glad to find that it resonated with so many of you. Thank you, again.

  20. April 15, 2011 4:09 PM

    K teary here again. A moment I’d like to have with my own father some day. Loved it. 🙂

  21. Michelle Muto permalink
    April 15, 2011 4:43 PM

    Love finds a way to heal hurts, doesn’t it? Good one.

  22. April 16, 2011 3:08 AM

    A very touching tale, beautifully written.

  23. Deanna Schrayer permalink
    April 16, 2011 8:12 AM

    Dani, I believe this is my favorite in the series so far. I was immediately taken back to the time I met my second husband. At that time he had not seen or talked to his mother in three years, all because of a misunderstanding that both of them refused to talk about, (thus the misunderstanding). It took some time but I finally made him realize that he needed to set his pride aside and go see her. We went together, and she welcomed him with open arms and a smile, just like the dad does here.

    Beautifully told, as always!

  24. April 16, 2011 9:59 AM

    Touching and beautifully written. I always enjoy your flash pieces. They’re always so touching and I can feel everything in the words you write. Sorry is a hard word to say.
    Wonderful! 🙂

  25. Brainhaze permalink
    April 18, 2011 3:18 PM

    I’ve had a similar experience. This piece explains the emotions and tensions perfectly. Nice work 🙂

  26. April 24, 2011 5:00 PM

    Well done, my little Pretty!!! My dad needs to do this with me! Ha! But its a universal problem with all families and friendships. A lot gets lost in the translation of our emotions and trying to communicate what we need to day. As you have shown, less is more. Love you!

Leave a Reply

