Skip to content

The Blank Page

May 19, 2011

The blank page looms before her, challenging her with its empty lines. Her fingers tremble as they clutch the pen. Heart tripping to a manic rhythm, her grip tightens and she forces ink to page.

One line. One loop. One word.

The sound of the ball point gliding across the page ignites a fire in her chest. Her breath grows heavy as her mind races, ideas pouring through her head. Hand unable to keep up with the flood rushing down her arm, cresting in her pen.

The words fly almost too fast for her to comprehend, but it only matters that they are here and that she captures them before they slip away on the tide. Her palm aches. Pain stabs through her wrist, yet she clutches harder, writes faster, fearful of losing momentum before the wave crashes and is sucked out to sea, leaving nothing but barren land in its wake.

Eyes slipping nearly shut, her hand finds its way, scratching out the last few lines. She is lost in the movement of the pen, in the swirl of phrases, in the blur of ideas. A frenzy of words flood the page. One after another they rise up and push her on to the next until she is left breathless and empty, sated and satisfied, with just enough strength to scrawl out…

The End

29 Comments leave one →
  1. Joshua Londero permalink
    May 20, 2011 12:13 AM

    I smiled from beginning to end.
    I’m still smiling.
    Love it.

  2. May 20, 2011 4:31 AM

    LOL, I know the feelings emoted within. Although to be honest I tend to find my fingertips burn as I type quicker than I can write by hand. If caught when out and about I tend to use my MP3 voice recorder facility. LOL

  3. May 20, 2011 6:16 AM

    Weird to read this one right after IBC4. Did you have the same prompt, or is writer’s block going around? After your long day I can see this coming naturally. Particularly enjoyed the fourth paragraph’s attempt to capture the feeling of furious writing flow.

    #seriouswritingface

  4. May 20, 2011 8:21 AM

    our sweet, painful compulsion…well captured x

  5. May 20, 2011 8:26 AM

    Wow, that’s how I feel right now! You captured the moment beautifully!

  6. May 20, 2011 10:23 AM

    She needs to get a fountain pen…a lot less wrist and palm pain πŸ˜›

    I liked this though. I know how intimidating the blank page can be as we all do, but this captures it really well plus the catharsis that is writing “The End”

  7. May 20, 2011 10:45 AM

    Sweeeeeeeeeet.

  8. May 20, 2011 10:46 AM

    You captured the feeling perfectly! Though I usually type and when I am in a hurry, mistype many words.

  9. May 20, 2011 10:57 AM

    I liked the desperation in this. And I agree with Michael – fountain pens are the way to go. They enforce a light hand.

  10. May 20, 2011 11:33 AM

    Once again you’ve conveyed the emotion and action so beautifully. I’ve seen that blank page too.

    Great job, Danni!

  11. May 20, 2011 12:10 PM

    Thank you guys so much. I know you can all relate!

    Michael & Tony, I don’t know what my problem is, but I cannot write with a fountain pen. I make a huge mess and streak ink all over the place. I’m sure I’m doing it wrong. LOL

  12. May 20, 2011 12:33 PM

    You make it seem effortless though! Well done, sis! πŸ™‚

  13. May 20, 2011 12:52 PM

    Ahh the feel of pen against paper! It’s so satisfying. Enjoyed this πŸ™‚

  14. May 20, 2011 12:55 PM

    God you made me tired. Nice Piece.

  15. May 20, 2011 1:25 PM

    I find writing with pencil helps – it glides over the paper easier, especially if you use something like a B or 2B.

    Seriously though, perfectly captures the panic of not being able to write – and then not being able to stop once you start.

  16. May 20, 2011 5:04 PM

    You capture the moment beautifully.

  17. May 20, 2011 8:26 PM

    This captures the need to write so well, just getting it out there, sometimes I type so fast I miss words out 😦

    Very nice piece.

  18. adampb permalink
    May 20, 2011 9:22 PM

    Loved the imagery throughout this Danni. Those moments when you are threatened with the deluge of words are wonderful.
    Adam B @revhappiness

  19. May 21, 2011 1:02 AM

    Oh how I know this feeling, you’ve captured it perfectly.

  20. May 21, 2011 4:02 AM

    That’s about right.

  21. Deanna Schrayer permalink
    May 21, 2011 6:42 AM

    I believe we can all relate, but you’ve put it into words that few of us could accomplish Dani. Outstanding work!

  22. May 21, 2011 7:43 AM

    Captures the writer’s frustration/exhaustion/exhiliaration perfectly.

  23. May 21, 2011 9:58 AM

    Lol! I can really appreciate this one, as can any writer. Sated and spent however, yeah that has never happened to me yet. Maybe in another decade or two, or three… πŸ˜‰

  24. May 21, 2011 10:40 AM

    Your words tell the story of the place that we’ve all been to and will no doubt go back to.
    A great piece of writing.

  25. May 21, 2011 3:28 PM

    Great pacing here! It starts slow, almost dragging, and then it’s a blur of furious writing, excitement and pain. Love this!

  26. May 22, 2011 3:03 PM

    This is perfect, covers the writing process perfectly. You really have an amazing talent. I love your writing. x

  27. May 24, 2011 10:16 PM

    Beautiful! It sounds like my own writing process except I’m typically typing furiously on my computer instead of writing. πŸ™‚ I usually don’t know where my writing wants to lead me but it’s fun to surprise even yourself with a story, wouldn’t you agree? Love your writing!

  28. laradunning permalink
    May 26, 2011 2:51 PM

    You’ve captured the moment well. I’m not much for handwriting as I used to be as a teen, but I remember those days of writing for hours and hours in my journal.

  29. May 28, 2011 6:33 PM

    Add me to the “you gotta use a fountain pen, Danni” crew. Other than that, I got nothin’ the others haven’t said before me.

    Still, beautifully captured the ecstatic madness that writing can be.

    Excellent.

Leave a Reply

