Skip to content

So Apparently I’m Cute

September 5, 2011

The Rebel Queen, Julie Particka, has bestowed upon me The Seriously Cute Blogger Award. Since most of my flash is dark fiction/horror, I find this pretty funny, but when she listed her explanation, I couldn’t deny it. It’s true, I’m madly in love and apparently I’m quite cute about it.

So here are the rules:

1st RULE: You do not talk about Puppy Club.

2nd RULE: You DO NOT talk about Puppy Club.

3rd RULE: You talk about 5 books/films/TV shows you’ve read or watched in the last 12 months.

#1 ~ SPEAK by Laurie Halse Anderson: This was my book club choice last month and it was fantastic. It chronicles Melinda’s Freshmen year of high school as she struggles to deal with being raped at an end-of-summer party. I highly recommend this book and even had my daughter read it before starting junior high.

#2 ~ Red Riding Hood: I’m not listing this movie because of its cinematic brilliance, but because it’s the movie the Monster and I shared for my birthday this year, and we even got Carlos to come along. The last few years Adriana and I have a chosen a mother/daughter movie to watch for my birthday. It started in 2008 with Horton Hears A Who. 2009 – Where The Wild Things Are. 2010 – Wolfman. And 2011 – Red Riding Hood. The progression from Dr. Seuss to crazy werewolf, love-triangle movie is awesome. Damn I love my kid.

#3 ~ THE BOOK OF LOST SOULS by Michelle Muto: This is another book the Monster and I shared. This is a fun book with a motley crew of supernatural races, a hilarious lizard-turned-date, and dark mystery. It has over 70 four and five-star reviews on Amazon and Goodreads. I’m blessed to have Michelle as one of my critique partners and fellow Rebel. She’s an an amazing writer and I can’t wait for her next release!

#4 ~ Hangover II: I can’t say this was better than the first movie, but it was pretty damn hilarious. And who doesn’t want to watch the insane antics of Ed Helms, Zack Galifianakis, and Ken Jeong all while drooling over Bradley Cooper. Two thumbs up!

#5 ~ Pale Demon by Kim Harrison: I’ve been a fan of The Hollows series for some time and I have to admit that my confidence in the series was waning after the last few demon and black magic books, but Harrison hit it out of the park with this road trip from hell. The entire dysfunctional crew went along on this race to the West Coast and I couldn’t get enough. More Trent and Rachel please!

And now I must share my cuteness with others:

Michelle Muto – The woman created Spike–the best lizard EVER!

Adam Byatt – He’s a drummer and is therefore cute by default. It’s the whole you’re-in-a-band-so-you-must-be-cute thing. 😉

John Wiswell – Because is he is the epitome of cuteness, plus I can’t wait to see his answers to this.

 

 

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2011 6:04 AM

    Hi Danni, some fun selections… I really enjoyed the risqué comedy of the first Hangover, and trailers for Red Riding Hood look intriguing.

    What I liked best, and that came out so strongly,is the wonderful relationship you clearly enjoy with your daughter. You take time with her, and make the effort to share your lives with each other, and it’s obvious you’ve built something special together. There’s a parenting 101 here too.

  2. September 6, 2011 6:50 AM

    Spike is blushing madly, but loves every minute of being in the spotlight.

  3. September 6, 2011 8:27 AM

    I have Lost Souls on my TBR pile and I’m looking forward to it. Like Tj, I mostly loved hearing about who you enjoyed watching it with. I hope my son and I are as close at that age. 🙂

  4. September 6, 2011 8:51 AM

    I hope my daughter and I have the great kind of bond that you share with your daughter! Great choices…I’ve very keen to watch Little Red Riding Hood too…

  5. September 6, 2011 9:18 AM

    Aww you are cute and what a great list x

  6. September 6, 2011 6:36 PM

    So they don’t have to be cute books? Do they have to possess secret Fight Club references?

  7. September 8, 2011 2:02 PM

    I stopped reading The Hollows a while back. Maybe I should pick it up again.

Leave a Reply

