Skip to content

Release

October 13, 2011

The tendrils of your memory snake through the room, searching even the darkest corners, before coiling around my heart. Your venom pumps like a drug through my veins, poisoning me as I beg for more.

Tears stream down my cheeks as my heart shatters again and again. I must break free, or die trying.

My trembling hands strike a match. Flames lick through the room. Smoke stings my lungs as I beg for release.

Release from all that you are.

From all that you were.

From all I could have been.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2011 12:19 PM

    Love it!
    So short and yet it is so poignant. Well done! I’ve been missing your flash, Danni!

  2. October 13, 2011 12:24 PM

    Pretty intense and poetic! I like!

  3. October 13, 2011 12:37 PM

    Lots of interpretations possible on this one Danni. I love how you’ve left it Open to the reader. Well done.

  4. October 13, 2011 12:48 PM

    Packed with emotion for something so concise! Well done!

  5. October 13, 2011 1:17 PM

    Theres a lot of heartfelt emotion within the piece and its cleverly done and lovely Dani. Very imaginative.

  6. Ian O'Neill permalink
    October 13, 2011 1:32 PM

    This one will stay with me for a while. Powerful. Nice job.

  7. October 13, 2011 1:35 PM

    I’ve missed your flash fic, sis! So few words, but packs a big punch. Well done. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. diannewaye permalink
    October 13, 2011 1:57 PM

    This reads like a song – poetic and intense, filling my head with imagery and emotions. Fantastic job.

  9. Joshua Londero permalink
    October 13, 2011 2:19 PM

    Excellent work Danni.
    I hope it’s not too forward of me to suggest that the very thing you are begging release from is what made you into the beautiful and talented being you are today.
    When we rise above our fears, get up again after being knocked down time and again, we come out stronger than before.
    You are a shining example.

  10. October 13, 2011 2:39 PM

    Whoaโ€ฆ lots of emotion in few words!

  11. Chrissey Harrison permalink
    October 13, 2011 3:37 PM

    You create a very vivid image. Such desperation and despair. Amazing stuff.

  12. October 13, 2011 4:59 PM

    Dang it girl, you can write… ! When I think I’m getting better, and the little snake of pride starts to awaken and slither around the dark recesses of my subconscious, it does me good to read some of your work.

    Thank you for keeping me humble :).

    • October 13, 2011 7:01 PM

      Wow, James. Thank for the incredible compliment. I don’t deserve it.

  13. October 13, 2011 5:41 PM

    Oh very good! – So sad, sweet and painfull all rolled into one wonderful piece of writing.

  14. October 13, 2011 6:10 PM

    I read this three times, each time taking something different from it. Love the emotion that hits me at the end. Thanks for that.

  15. October 13, 2011 6:55 PM

    A poignant piece Danni…so filled with all the emotions we feel as we get caught up in relationships and the feelings they leave us with.
    All I can say is…give us more flash please. I’ve been missing it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. October 13, 2011 7:02 PM

    You guys are awesome, flashers and OWGers alike. Thank you so much for taking time to read my words and comment.

  17. October 13, 2011 7:41 PM

    Oooh I missed you! Loved this piece. For me, of all the ways to die, fire would be my last choice. *shudders* but sure made for a great story! ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. October 13, 2011 8:44 PM

    Flames licked through the entire room? Then I guess they’re both getting released pretty soon, at least from what they are.

  19. adampb permalink
    October 14, 2011 2:53 AM

    Hey there, Danni,
    love the visual poetry of this flash. Wonderfully evocative and cathartic.
    Adam B @revhappiness

  20. Dana McEntee permalink
    October 14, 2011 11:03 AM

    This is poetry in motion! Terrific!

  21. October 15, 2011 9:10 AM

    Love it Danni. Your work always evokes strong emotions. Wonderful.

  22. October 15, 2011 10:13 AM

    It never ceases to amaze me how you can fit so much into so few words, while still leaving plenty of room for interpretation. Bravo.

  23. October 15, 2011 10:59 PM

    I’m worried your protagonist might well die trying.

    Great energy and emotion in this.

    Really well done.

  24. October 16, 2011 3:47 PM

    I love it! I agree with the others who said that leaving some of the interpretation open to the reader was a nice touch. As usual, your economy with words is masterful.

  25. October 17, 2011 4:41 PM

    Chilling, powerful, and heavy with emotion. I loved this. ๐Ÿ™‚ I love the imagery of the first line.

Leave a Reply

