Skip to content

Once Upon A Grave

October 27, 2011

This week Friday Flash Dot Org is holding a “Name That Horror Movie” contest. Each participating writer must weave the name of a horror movie into the words of their story. And because I simply couldn’t decide which movie to go with, I wove the titles of 15 movies into a 241 word flash.

How many can you find?

***

Photo by Owl Sisters Photography

Model & Photo Editor, The Fabulous Misty Carey

Anticipation raced through her veins as Blair crept through the cemetery. Others had warned her about this sacred ground, this final resting place of so many tortured souls. Entering on a night with a full moon shining was a bad omen, even worse than Halloween or Dia de Los Muertos. They said dangers lurked in this destination—the witch living within the crypt, the beast that stalked the hills and the chainsaw wielding psycho he answered to. Even the birds perched on the elm, watching with their dead eyes, were enough to induce a nightmare, but she would not be dissuaded from her task.

Twilight faded to black as a wind whispered over her skin, scattering leaves across the stone path and into the street. She searched for the oldest zone at the rear of the property. The graves from the massacre were perfect for her sacrifice. Night after night she’d worked in her cabin. Her maniacal fever pushing her until every detail was exactly right and her project was complete. She’d counted the days, watching from her window, until the stars were perfectly aligned on this thirteenth night. She slipped from her home and into the cemetery with her bag of tools—candles, herbs, hand saw, and a small shovel.

By Friday she would be in a new home, a new life in Texas where no one had ever heard her name. But tonight, tonight she would have her revenge.

***

Since my story, with it’s many movie titles, doesn’t qualify for the FFDO Contest, I will be giving away a $15.00 (USD) gift card to Amazon.com (sent via email) to one lucky winner. Whoever guesses the most movie titles right wins. Guesses must be posted in the comment section of THIS post. Multiple comments are acceptable. Now, if the comments get crazy (as defined by me) for any reason, I’ll simply default to Random.org to select a winner for me. This contest is open to anyone with a valid email address.

You have until midnight (PST) on Monday, October 31, 2011 to enter. The winner will be posted sometime on Tuesday, November 1, 2011, along with the titles of the fifteen movies. GOOD LUCK!

46 Comments leave one →
  1. Ian O'Neill permalink
    October 27, 2011 12:52 PM

    Here’s what I came up with:

    Tortured
    The Shining
    The Omen
    Halloween
    The Crypt
    Psycho
    The Birds
    Twilight
    Texas Chainsaw Masacre
    A Nightmare On Elm Street
    The Hills Have Eyes
    Dead Zone
    Final Destination
    The Day of the Beast
    Blair Witch Project

    Cheers,
    Ian
    P.S. I liked the story, too. Nice job.

    • October 27, 2011 12:58 PM

      Thanks, Ian! Wow, what a great way to kick off the contest. There are quite a few right answers in here, ten actually, but it’s not the list I worked off of.

      I am aware that I probably “accidently” slipped some other movie names in here, but keep trying. I’ll even post a photo of my notebook at the end so every knows I didn’t play favorites with the winner

  2. October 27, 2011 12:55 PM

    OK here we go:
    Halloween
    Dia de Los Muertos (theres two films that could tie in this, Dia de los Muertos Halloween, Day of the dead.)
    Psycho
    Beast
    Nightmare
    The Birds
    Twilight
    The Omen

    Ones that I also thought were in there but jumbled were:
    The Blair Witch Project
    Cabin Fever
    Nightmare on Elm Street
    Rear Window
    Friday the 13th
    The House by the Cemetary
    The Hills have eyes
    The Texas Chainsaw Massacre

    • October 27, 2011 12:59 PM

      They’re all jumbled so I’ll count both of your lists together. Still not all 15 so keep the guesses coming!

  3. October 27, 2011 2:09 PM

    First off, let me say great story and I’m glad I could help with the picture. 🙂

    I’m not a Halloween buff, but I’m gonna take a crack anyway…

    Blair Witch Project
    The Shining
    The Omen
    Halloween
    Final Destination
    The Witches
    The Crypt
    Texas Chainsaw Massacre
    Psycho
    The Birds
    Nightmare on Elm Street
    Twilight
    Cabin Fever
    Friday the 13th
    Saw

    • October 27, 2011 2:23 PM

      Thank you so much for letting me use your photo! And excellent list, but still not quite all 15.

  4. October 27, 2011 2:13 PM

    YAY! You’re writing flashes again!!! I was so excited to read that I forgot to count…

    Happy Halloween, Danni♥

    • October 27, 2011 2:23 PM

      Thanks, Anne!

      And please know, guessing is not required. Readers can feel free to enjoy the Halloween story just as it is.

  5. Angbuf permalink
    October 27, 2011 4:36 PM

    Okay,
    Texas Chainsaw Massacre
    Blair Witch Project
    Omen
    Psycho
    Final Destination
    The Birds
    Nightmare on Elm Street
    Saw
    Friday the Thirteenth
    The Hills have Eyes
    Halloween
    Twilight Zone
    Cabin Fever
    The Shinning

    Damn, I can’t find a fifteenth! Oh well this is what I found. LOVE the story BTW! ❤ And it was FUN to try and find the names.

    • October 27, 2011 4:54 PM

      Thanks for playing along, Terri! Glad you liked the story and had fun. Great list!

  6. October 27, 2011 5:02 PM

    Good story and fun Danni I didn’t get all 15 but here’s what I did get:

    Blair Witch Project
    Texas Chainsaw Masacre
    The Birds
    Psycho
    Friday the Thirteenth
    Twilight
    The Shining
    Halloween
    Saw
    The Omen
    The Crypt
    Nightmare on Elm Street
    Final Distination

  7. October 27, 2011 6:13 PM

    Short and creepy!

  8. October 27, 2011 7:25 PM

    My list…I love a challenge. Loved the flash too!

    1 Cemetery
    2 Sacred ground
    3 Final resting place
    4 Tortured souls
    5 Shining
    6 Omen
    7 Dia de Los Muertos
    8 Halloween
    9 Crypt
    10 Dead Eyes
    11 Psycho
    12 Birds
    13 Nightmare on Elm Street
    14 Thirteenth Night
    15 Sacrifice

    • October 28, 2011 8:21 AM

      Wow, I’m amazed at some of these movies I’ve never heard of and put it there on accident. You’re not the only one with movies I didn’t know existed. Thanks for playing!

  9. October 27, 2011 9:37 PM

    Good story! Creepy and perfect for the holiday. I’m not going to guess at your list, but I saw a few. Great job in adding so many titles in and still having a flowing story.

  10. October 28, 2011 4:52 AM

    As always a pleasure to read Danni. I enjoyed the story so much I lost count… but there are lots of people with 15 guesses already…

    Thanks again for darkening my Fridays… 🙂

    • October 28, 2011 8:22 AM

      Always glad to bring a little horror to your weekend, TJ. 🙂

  11. Deanna Schrayer permalink
    October 28, 2011 8:07 AM

    Well, before I reveal my guesses, I have to say this is a fantastic story Dani! Perfectly dark for the season.
    I did have to read twice, (not complaining – it was worth it), because I kept getting distracted by the movie titles to pay attention to the story itself. That said, here’s what I found (I haven’t looked at others’ guesses):

    1. The Ring
    2. The Blair Witch Project
    3. Rear Window
    4. Psycho
    5. Halloween
    6. Friday the 13th
    7. Dia de Los Muertos
    8. Omen
    9.Nightmare on Elm Street
    10. Texas Chainsaw Masacre
    11. The Hills Have Eyes
    12. The Shining
    13. Destination Moon
    14. Sacred Ground
    15. Final Destination

    Whew! What a terrific job you did here Dani!

    • October 28, 2011 8:30 AM

      Thanks, Deanna. I’m glad you liked the story and thanks for playing along!

  12. October 28, 2011 8:19 AM

    I recognized a few titles, but I think you’ve got others who have already guessed ’em all. I just enjoyed the story.

    • October 28, 2011 8:31 AM

      Thanks, FAR! Glad you liked it. And, nope, no one has guessed 15 yet!

  13. October 28, 2011 8:28 AM

    I’m with FAR – I saw lots of titles, but I’m sure I’d miss more than others before me have spotted. “Twilight” was the sneakiest horror flick, imho.

    • October 28, 2011 8:32 AM

      Thanks for reading Tony, and I agree, Twilight doesn’t qualify as horror, but it is scary! 😉

  14. October 28, 2011 1:14 PM

    Yup, just getting here, but once again impressed. I think I found most of them. Funny thing was, I had to keep re-reading it because I was so focused on trying to find the movie names that I was only getting a glimpse of the story, which, given the nature of flash, we only get anyway even if we’re paying attention 🙂

    Happy Halloween!

    Paul D. Dail
    http://www.pauldail.com- A horror writer’s not necessarily horrific blog

    • October 28, 2011 1:24 PM

      Yeah, it’s a bit distracting with so many in there. Thanks for stopping by, Paul.

  15. October 28, 2011 3:15 PM

    -Halloween
    -The Omen
    -The Shining
    -Psycho
    -The Birds
    -Blair Witch Project
    -Texas Chainsaw Massacre
    -Friday the Thirteenth
    -Final Destination
    -Twilight Zone
    -The Hills Have Eyes
    -Rear Window
    -House by the Cemetery
    -Day of the Dead/Dia de Los Muertos – both are in there, very cheeky
    -Nightmare on Elm Street

    I figure if it can’t re-use the same words, then “Nightmare” and “Night of” cancel each other out. That leaves something with “dead” in the title, and “Day of the Dead” is in there twice thanks to the Spanish. If it turns out movies can’t share the word “the,” then I’m screwed.

    • October 28, 2011 3:34 PM

      Valiant effort my friend, but still no winner.

      And to clarify, for every movie title that has a “the” in it, I have to have one “the” in the story for each. So if your list were correct, I would have to have at least four “the”s in my story.

  16. October 28, 2011 4:13 PM

    Love the story! I don’t think I can come up with 15 movies. The only ones that come to me are the Blair Witch Project and Texas Chainsaw Massacre. 😉

    • October 28, 2011 4:24 PM

      Glad you liked the story, Sonia. Thank you so much for stopping by. 🙂

  17. October 28, 2011 4:40 PM

    Fifteen titles in under 250 words! Aren’t you just the little overachiever. Nice work on this. 😉

  18. October 28, 2011 5:50 PM

    I’d have to agree with Tim. That’s quite a feat you accomplished there. Plus telling a great flash story in the process… some great work Danni. Here’s my guess of the 15…
    Anticipation
    Sacred Ground
    Pet Cemetary
    Revenge
    Sacrifice
    Tortured
    Thirteen ghosts
    The Shining
    The Omen
    Halloween
    The Witch
    The Crypt or Tales from the Crypt
    Psycho
    The Birds
    Twilight
    Texas Chainsaw Masacre
    A Nightmare On Elm Street
    The Hills Have Eyes
    Dead Zone
    Final Destination
    The Day of the Beast
    Blair Witch Project
    Dia de Los Muertos/Day of the Living Dead

    Sorry, but I’m a huge movie fan. I found at least 23 references and even variations from these. So even some of these have off shoots to other movies with same or similar names. My best guess though.
    Can’t believe you put all this into that story! Wow!!! 🙂

    • October 28, 2011 7:49 PM

      You’re not the only one who found extras. Great list, Pat. Thanks for playing!

  19. October 28, 2011 6:49 PM

    What a clever prompt! Excellent flash DannI.

  20. October 29, 2011 6:46 AM

    I think I got about thirteen titles. Great idea though! Good homage to horror.

  21. October 29, 2011 9:20 AM

    Great and clever idea, and very well executed. So many movie titles in so few words. Others have come up with all the ones I could find. Congrats on a great little story and a very ingenious and original Halloween contest. 🙂

  22. October 29, 2011 5:55 PM

    I love it when writers do this! I once got a b-day card with a ton of NIN song titles woven into the letter…very cool!

    I really enjoyed reading this flash…lost track of the titles and decided to focus on the the story instead! Well done!

    • October 30, 2011 12:54 PM

      Thanks, Angela. Even my little Monster got involved and helped me pick out movies. I might do this again in the future with a different theme. Glad you liked it.

  23. October 31, 2011 2:36 PM

    I suck at this stuff, so I’ll leave it to the trivia pro’s and simply tell you how much I enjoyed your story. Great ending! 🙂

  24. November 1, 2011 1:18 PM

    Good story! I’m pretty rubbish with Horror movie names – I could spot a couple of the obvious ones but beyond that, no clue lol!

    But I liked the story regadless 🙂

Leave a Reply

