Skip to content

It Happened One Night

February 9, 2012

It’s that time again! This is another Movie Title Madness story. If you missed the first one, you can read it here. Since Valentine’s Day is upon us, I decided to put the titles of Romantic Comedies into my story. This time I have left the titles in tact. So if the movie is “My Big Fat Greek Wedding” (which is NOT in the story), it would read something like… “on our way to my big, fat, Greek wedding, we were mobbed by a herd of zombies.” Although I must say that this is not my usual style of writing, it seemed to fit the theme. The Monster (aka my daughter) was very disappointed that there was no death or mayhem in this story. I’ll try harder next time.

There are 25 movie titles woven into this 610 word flash. How many can you find?

***

It Happened One Night

“A blind date! On Valentine’s Day!” I shouted.

“It could be true love, you never know,” Sally said.

She had to be the most clueless human on the planet if she thought love actually worked that way. I was fuming.

It had all started at my best friend’s wedding, when Harry met Sally. They were head over heels and from that day forward she was on a personal mission to find me the perfect man so I wouldn’t be the last lonely hag on Earth. I swear I must have gone on at least fifty first dates—everything from doctors to teachers to mechanics, but I finally drew the line at the bounty hunter. Seriously. Dog had nothing on this freak. I told her I was done. And she accepted it. Until…

Right after the new year. She must have made it one of her resolutions because she hounded me unrelentingly. Every time I turned around, there she was with a phone call, a text, an email. At first she was gentle. “It’ll be fun,” she’d say. “Just go with it.” Then it turned whiney then it went to full-scale rants that usually ended with something along the lines of, “Because I said so!”

Finally my will was broken, my resistance worn down, and I accepted. I was exhausted. She was elated. She even came over early that night to help me get ready. I must have tried on at least twenty-seven dresses before finding one we agreed on. She kept insisting on a low-cut slip dress.

“But you look so pretty in pink.”

I refused to wear pink on Valentine’s Day on principle alone. I ended up going with something borrowed from my sister. Borrowed being a relative term considering it had been hanging in my closet for two years. It was a simple, black wrap dress that hugged my curves but didn’t reveal too much skin.

“Do you feel beautiful?” she asked.

“Definitely. Maybe. I think so. Yes.” It didn’t matter either way because there was no way I was changing again. She hugged me, wished me luck, and left.

As I applied the final touches to my make-up, the doubts started again. It would be just my luck to have him show up in a Pinto, or on a freaking motorcycle, or not show up at all. I thought I might be sick. By the time the doorbell rang I was about ready to call the damn thing off, but I opened the door and my jaw dropped. He was gorgeous—sun-kissed skin, sandy hair, and eyes the color of the sea. My knees were weak and it was all I could do not to grab him right there and press my lips to his.

But I controlled myself and he proved to be a perfect gentleman. At the end of the night he walked me to my door and he kissed me. I’m a pretty woman and it’s not like I’d never been kissed, but I sure as hell had never been kissed like that. It wasn’t a thanks-for-the-decent-time-maybe-I’ll-call-you-sometime kind of kiss, but a heart-stopping-mind-blowing-angels-are-singing-fireworks-are-bursting-soul-wrenching kind of French kiss. I could have died happy right then and there.

Thank God I didn’t. Three weeks later came the proposal.

We talked dates and locations, music and lyrics, but it took no time to decide there would be no rehearsals for the wedding singer, no tasting of cakes, neither something old, nor something new.

“Only you,” he said. “That’s all I need.”

We packed our bags and took the next flight out.

You know what they say, “What happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas,” except maybe this once.

***

Just like last time, there is a prize. Whoever guesses the most movie titles correctly will win a dozen Amazon bucks ($12.00 USD). It may not smell as nice as a dozen roses, but whatever you buy with it will last much longer.

Guesses must be posted in the comment section of THIS post. If there is a tie or if the comments get crazy (as defined by me) for any reason, I’ll simply default to Random.org to select a winner for me. This contest is open to anyone with a valid email address (since that’s how I send the gift card).

You have until midnight (EST) on Monday, February 13, 2012,  to enter. The winner will be posted sometime on Tuesday, February 14, 2012, along with the titles of the 25 movie titles.

If you have any questions, please post them in the comments and I’ll answer as quickly as I can.

GOOD LUCK!

You can find the winner here.

35 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2012 11:38 AM

    It Happened One Night
    Valentine’s Day
    Blind Date
    Clueless
    Love Actually
    My Best Friend’s Wedding
    When Harry Met Sally
    The Perfect Man
    50 First Dates
    Bounty Hunter
    Just Go With It
    27 Dresses
    Pretty In Pink
    Something Borrowed
    Definitely Maybe
    Just My Luck
    Pretty Woman
    Never Been Kissed
    French Kiss
    The Proposal
    Music and Lyrics
    The Wedding Singer
    Only You
    What Happens In Vegas

    Oooh, so close! I think I watch too many Rom Coms, lol

  2. February 9, 2012 12:31 PM

    Danni, that is such a great idea, like a scavenger hunt/flash fic/memory. Good work, girl:)

  3. Ian O'Neill permalink
    February 9, 2012 12:32 PM

    It Happened One Night
    blind date!
    Valentine’s Day
    true love
    clueless
    love actually
    my best friend’s wedding,
    when Harry met Sally.
    head over heels
    fifty first dates
    the bounty hunter.
    Just go with it.
    Because I said so
    twenty-seven dresses
    pretty in pink
    something borrowed
    Definitely, Maybe.
    just my luck
    pretty woman
    never been kissed,
    the proposal.
    the wedding singer
    something new.
    Only you
    What happens in Vegas

  4. February 9, 2012 1:22 PM

    We have two very impressive lists going and even some movie titles I didn’t put in there intentionally. Which ones are on the official list? You’ll have to wait until V-Day to find out!
    Keep the guesses coming!

  5. February 9, 2012 3:12 PM

    Fun! Movie buff that I like to think I am, romantic comedies aren’t my strong suit. I topped off at fifteen. Awesome idea, though!

  6. February 9, 2012 3:32 PM

    I loved the one you did for Halloween with the horror titles. I got close to getting them all but this time I’ll pass. It’s a great idea and a nice challenge for a writer to include a list like this. Fun stuff!

  7. February 9, 2012 7:50 PM

    I’ll forward this one to Kristy.
    It was great, by the way.

  8. February 9, 2012 8:40 PM

    I refuse to play on the principle that you were too cheeky and made the first two sentences two titles. However, I still love cheeky writing and enjoyed all of this.

    • February 9, 2012 10:46 PM

      You refuse to play because you’ve never even seen any of these movies. 😉

  9. February 10, 2012 1:55 AM

    Hi Danni,

    Great story, it captured the unpredictability of love and life.
    I’m not guessing movies though… I enjoyed your writing too much for the artistry to be marred by scrabbling for money between the letters, full stops, and spaces. (Mostly though, busy weekend!). Gotta run, but thanks for the story. 🙂

  10. February 10, 2012 2:18 AM

    love the line “Do you feel beautiful.. Definitely. Maybe. I think so. Yes.”
    Clever and beautifully written as always Danni

  11. February 10, 2012 3:12 AM

    It Happened One Night
    blind date
    Valentine’s Day
    true love
    love actually
    my best friend’s wedding
    when Harry met Sally
    Head over Heels
    The Perfect Man
    fifty first dates
    the bounty hunter
    Just go with it
    27 Dresses
    pretty in pink
    Definitely. Maybe
    perfect gentleman
    pretty woman
    never been kissed
    French kiss
    the proposal
    the wedding singer
    Only you
    What happens in Vegas

    Wow, don’t know how you fit them all in.

  12. Darcie permalink
    February 10, 2012 4:43 AM

    it happened one night
    blind date
    Valentine’s Day
    True Love
    clueless
    love actually
    my best friend’s wedding
    when harry met sally
    head over heels
    50 first dates
    the bounty hunter
    just go with it
    because i said so
    27 Dresses
    pretty in pink
    something borrowed
    definitely, maybe
    pretty woman
    never been kissed
    french kiss
    the proposal
    music and lyrics
    the wedding singer
    only you
    what happens in Vegas

    This was super fun!! It looks like all the random movie knowledge I’ve acquired from my husband’s old job at Blockbuster is turning out useful 🙂 We used to watch A LOT of movies hehe.

  13. Emma Leigh permalink
    February 10, 2012 7:00 AM

    What a cool idea! And you did it incredibly well. I am amazed. I never get to watch this type of movie, so I’ll pass on trying to find them. But great job!

  14. February 10, 2012 8:23 AM

    OK, here goes:

    It Happened One Night
    blind date
    Valentine’s Day
    true love
    you never know
    clueless
    love actually
    my best friend’s wedding
    when Harry met Sally
    head over heels
    the perfect man
    fifty first dates
    the bounty hunter
    resolutions
    Every time
    phone call
    Just go with it
    twenty-seven dresses
    pretty in pink.”
    something borrowed
    beautiful
    either way
    just my luck
    gorgeous
    all I could do
    a perfect gentleman
    pretty woman
    never been kissed
    French kiss.
    the proposal.
    music and lyrics
    no time
    the wedding singer
    something new.
    “Only you,”
    all I need.”
    the next flight out.
    “What happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas,”

  15. February 10, 2012 12:52 PM

    I’m loving the guesses, but we still don’t have complete list! 🙂

  16. February 10, 2012 1:03 PM

    1) when Harry met Sally
    2) Because I said so
    3) pretty in pink
    4) Valentine’s Day
    5) something borrowed
    6) pretty woman
    8) French kiss
    9) the proposal
    10) What happens in Vegas
    11) Just Go With It
    12) Only You
    13) you never know
    14) my best friend’s wedding
    15) Music and Lyrics
    16) Head Over Heels
    17) the perfect man
    18) the new year
    19) Clueless
    20) 50 First Dates
    21) Bounty Hunter
    22) blind date
    23) Definitely, Maybe
    24) Just My Luck
    25) Never Been Kissed
    26) love actually
    27) The Wedding Singer
    28) true love

    Liked the story!! Hopefully that is one vegas wedding will not just stay in vegas!!

    I think I found slightly more titles than you used. 😉 Do I still get credits?

  17. adampb permalink
    February 10, 2012 3:16 PM

    I guessed a few, but no where near the calibre of previous commenters.
    Very clever, Danni.
    Adam B @revhappiness

  18. February 10, 2012 4:53 PM

    Okay, I’m no good at these — it totally get caught up in the story and forget that I’m supposed to be looking for titles! lol I love the idea though and I love the flash! You’re awesome, Danni!

  19. February 11, 2012 2:41 AM

    A fun read. Though I haven’t actually seen most of these movies I have heard of most of them.
    I was really tempted to C+P someone else’s answers just for a joke, but figured I’d get rumbled, and so resisted the mischievous temptation. 🙂

    I think you ought to do one with sci-fi films and give me a sporting chance. 🙂

    • February 11, 2012 7:45 AM

      Ooh, a sci-fi one could be interesting! Maybe I’ll try my hand at one of those in the coming months.

  20. February 11, 2012 3:29 AM

    I know most of the titles but obviously most people have already commented them now.

    Really enjoyed this though, nice to see that some people do get their happy ending.

    • February 11, 2012 7:45 AM

      I don’t let them have happy endings very often, but it was a romantic comedy. 😉

  21. February 11, 2012 7:47 AM

    And for those wondering, I still don’t have a complete list of the 25 movie titles I chose.

  22. February 11, 2012 11:16 AM

    I recognized a bunch, but won’t say I found them all. Maybe I’ll comb the wife’s stacks a little later & enter.

    Cute story for VD… it’s always the Ones you dread that turn out well! (Although I was expecting a knifing. 🙂

  23. February 11, 2012 12:36 PM

    This was fun. I enjoyed the story. I’m not sure how to feel about the number of movie titles I recognized….

    IT HAPPENED ONE NIGHT
    BLIND DATE
    VALENTINE’S DAY
    TRUE LOVE
    CLUELESS
    LOVE ACTUALLY
    MY BEST FRIEND’S WEDDING
    WHEN HARRY MET SALLY
    HEAD OVER HEELS
    THE PERFECT MAN
    FIFTY FIRST DATES
    TEACHERS
    JUST GO WITH IT
    BECAUSE I SAID SO
    TWENTY-SEVEN DRESSES
    PRETTY IN PINK
    SOMETHING BORROWED
    DEFINITELY. MAYBE
    JUST MY LUCK
    A PERFECT GENTLEMAN
    PRETTY WOMAN
    NEVER BEEN KISSED
    FRENCH KISS
    THE PROPOSAL
    MUSIC AND LYRICS
    THE WEDDING SINGER
    ONLY YOU
    WHAT HAPPENS IN VEGAS
    ONCE

  24. February 11, 2012 6:56 PM

    Great story! I obviously don’t watch enough romantic movies, I only recognised:
    Blind Date
    My Best Friend’s Wedding
    When Harry met Sally
    Bounty Hunter
    Pretty Woman
    The Wedding Singer.

  25. February 12, 2012 6:07 AM

    So creative, Danni! And I’m glad you included Pretty in Pink. That is one of my favorite movies. (Top 5 probably) 🙂

  26. February 12, 2012 10:01 AM

    Finally! My romcom addiction pays off!
    1) It Happened one Night
    2) Blind Date
    3) Valentine’s Day
    4) True Love
    5) Clueless
    6) Love, actually
    7) My Best Friend’s Wedding
    8) When Harry Met Sally
    9) Head over Heals
    10) The Perfect Man
    11) 50 First Dates
    12) The Bounty Hunter
    13) Just Go With It
    14) Because I Said So
    15) 27 Dresses
    16) Pretty In Pink
    17) Something Borrowed
    18) Definitely, Maybe
    19) Just My Luck
    20) Pretty Woman
    21) Never Been Kissed
    22) French Kiss
    23) The Proposal
    24) Music and Lyrics
    25) The Wedding Singer
    26) Only You
    27) What Happens in Vegas
    And yes, I’ve seen all of those movies… sadly.

  27. February 12, 2012 10:51 AM

    Like Bev, I’ve seen all these and some more than once. I’m a hopeless romantic, especially if it’s a comedy. Here’s my 25.

    1) What Happens in Vegas
    2) Blind Date
    3) Valentine’s Day
    4) Because I Said So
    5) Clueless
    6) Love, actually
    7) My Best Friend’s Wedding
    8) When Harry Met Sally
    9) Head over Heals
    10) The Perfect Man
    11) 50 First Dates
    12) The Bounty Hunter
    13) Just Go With It
    14) Only You
    15) 27 Dresses
    16) Pretty In Pink
    17) Something Borrowed
    18) Definitely, Maybe
    19) Just My Luck
    20) Pretty Woman
    21) Never Been Kissed
    22) French Kiss
    23) The Proposal
    24) Music and Lyrics
    25) The Wedding Singer

    Awesome as usual Danni! Can’t believe you get that many titles into a story! Amazing! 🙂

  28. diannewaye permalink
    February 15, 2012 6:57 AM

    Absolutely amazing that you managed to smoothly integrate all those titles into the story line. Pure genius, pure fun. Too late for the contest, but not to late for the story to put a huge grin on my face.

Leave a Reply

