Skip to content

I Dream

March 8, 2012

The lead curtain closes me in. Block walls and a slab floor, my new home. Only a single patch of light remains. Too small to comfort. Too big a reminder.

A chill settles in my bones. Apathy for them lingers within, a numbness tingling in my nerves, a hint that perhaps one day I’ll care; one day I’ll miss the sun that will never kiss my skin, the rain that will never wash me clean, the whisper in the willows of the honeysuckle breeze.

Eyes closed, I wrap myself in darkness and set my imagination free. Planets spin from my fingertips, storms billow from my breath, mountains rise at my side, oceans lap at my feet. Lifetimes pass before my eyes, beckoning to my whim.

I huddle deeper, burrowed in the corner of my mind.

Alone in my cell, I dream.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. adampb permalink
    March 8, 2012 1:13 PM

    Hey Danni,
    lovely exploration of the imagination. This is my fave line: the whisper in the willows of the honeysuckle breeze. Simple alliteration, but it’s evocative.
    Adam @revhappiness

  2. March 8, 2012 1:35 PM

    Very poetic.
    It seems like a harsh place for a person to dwell, but paradise for the muse.

  3. March 8, 2012 2:55 PM

    This one oddly reminds me of a lullaby… setting the mind free while the body is left behind in its physical prison.

  4. March 8, 2012 5:35 PM

    A prison and a place to dream of what will never be. This is a very haunting piece Danni. Sad, lonely and desolate. Well written!

  5. March 8, 2012 9:13 PM

    This is one of your all-time best voice-pieces, Danni. Second paragraph begged to be read out loud.

  6. March 9, 2012 2:22 AM

    This was a haunting piece, especially the line “a numbness tingling in my nerves, a hint that perhaps one day I’ll care; “

  7. March 9, 2012 8:13 AM

    Beautiful, very poetic and very well written x

  8. March 9, 2012 10:46 AM

    Cold and lonely. I second Helen, quite haunting.

  9. March 9, 2012 1:06 PM

    My favorite was this: “…a hint that perhaps one day I’ll care; one day I’ll miss the sun that will never kiss my skin, the rain that will never wash me clean, the whisper in the willows of the honeysuckle breeze.” although much of the third paragraph came very close.

    I always adore beautiful and alliterative writing with evocative descriptions that bring out mood. I know there is more of a tendency these days toward spare, quick-to-consume language that’s as soon forgotten. So it’s refreshing to be able to wallow in words and see and hear and feel what they’re describing.

    • March 9, 2012 9:03 PM

      “Wallow in the words” That’s exactly what I do when I write flash. Thanks for commenting, Matthew!

  10. March 9, 2012 1:15 PM

    Sad, evocative, effecting. Truly beautiful. Read it a few times. Maybe I’ll go read it again…

    • March 9, 2012 9:01 PM

      To have you reread it is one of the most gratifying things I can imagine as a writer. Thank you so much.

  11. March 9, 2012 1:32 PM

    Onset of madness. Awesome.

  12. March 9, 2012 1:52 PM

    I really liked the feeling of isolation and freedom that were juxtaposed together. Well done and very poetic.

  13. Ian O'Neill permalink
    March 9, 2012 2:10 PM

    In a cell yet they evoke so many images of freedom. A wonderful contrast between their physical and mental states. Gives the feeling that one can be physically trapped but mentally free. Good stuff.

    • March 9, 2012 9:02 PM

      Thanks so much, Ian. No matter what happens, we’ll be okay as long as we have our imaginations.

  14. March 9, 2012 6:01 PM

    I had a dream, her name was Danielle, she filled my days with beautiful words that tickled my minds eye. 🙂

  15. March 10, 2012 1:39 AM

    Hey Dani,
    Nicely done and a piece that speaks volumes. It goes to prove that you can’t imprison the mind although I did wonder what the subject had done to be within the cell.

  16. March 10, 2012 10:48 AM

    I like this. He seems quite insane — very much living only in an internal world.

  17. March 12, 2012 10:06 AM

    At first I wasn’t sure if this was a vampire, but now I’m thinking it’s some form of divine creator, like an Elder God? Beautiful writing either way.

  18. April 7, 2012 4:16 PM

    Nice Work, I hopefully next week will be joining you and your wonderful Flash Fic with one of my own though I don’t think I will be able to muster something this good

Leave a Reply

