Skip to content

The Passing

July 12, 2012

A life’s reflections flash by in the rearview mirror. Mile by mile, they fade into my past and out of my life as I fly down two lanes to anywhere. Mile markers keep time in this countdown to the end.

 The end of her or of me remains to be seen.

 Parched for truth, I cross a desert of deceit, chasing a mirage of compassion that shimmers in the distance, forever out of reach and out of touch. I burn across the asphalt, racing against the night, before the moon’s frigid hand takes grip. A blanket of shadows stretches out beside me as I cling to that last touch of the mourning sun before it fades for good.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2012 1:06 PM

    Awesome, as always. I love the word choices and the way it all ties together, Danni.

  2. July 12, 2012 1:36 PM

    I liked the way you used the rearveiw mirror to show time passing and the Part about being parched for truth in the desert. Your pretty good at poems. 🙂 Glad you shared this.

  3. July 12, 2012 1:52 PM

    Glad to see you back! Awesome as always. 🙂

  4. July 12, 2012 1:54 PM

    achingly lyrical, love it

  5. July 12, 2012 2:01 PM

    The “mourning sun” — if that was deliberate, it was genius. And “two lanes to anywhere” mirrors how I feel sometimes.

  6. July 12, 2012 2:23 PM

    You really have the skill when it comes to FF Dani, each word works perfectly in harmony. Great stuff.

  7. July 12, 2012 2:27 PM

    Love this Danni, nice introspection in very few words.

  8. adampb permalink
    July 12, 2012 6:38 PM

    Lovely to read your work again, Danni.
    Adam B @revhappiness

  9. July 12, 2012 7:25 PM

    “mourning sun” is a good touch, by typo or intent. Especially with the tone of the piece, I figure it had to be intentional. The only thing I dislike about it is it’s such a good line but now it’s taken, so I can’t use it.

    • July 12, 2012 7:32 PM

      “Mourning” was deliberate. Thank you and too bad so sad. 🙂

  10. Ian O'Neill permalink
    July 12, 2012 7:28 PM

    Very nice.

  11. July 12, 2012 7:33 PM

    Excellent like the others I loved the morning sun line but I also thought ‘Mile by mile, they fade into my past and out of my life as I fly down two lanes to anywhere.’ Set the scene perfectly. I read this through twice slowly. ^_^

  12. July 13, 2012 3:21 AM

    See, I told you you could write poetry. 🙂 All you need to do for the conservatives is rearrange the lines more vertically – job done.

  13. July 13, 2012 4:47 AM

    The feeling of escaping is almost tangible in this Danni, the piece borders on poetry. Nice writing. 🙂

  14. July 13, 2012 5:55 PM

    Beautiful poetry!

  15. July 14, 2012 5:31 PM

    I love “Parched for truth, I cross a desert of deceit”. It’s been a while since I’ve written flash and once again, you’ve inspired me to do just that.

  16. July 16, 2012 3:00 PM

    Always a pleasure reading you flash fiction – glad to see you back.

  17. July 17, 2012 10:06 AM

    welcome back!!! 🙂 So happy!

  18. July 19, 2012 5:07 PM

    Ooh, lovely. Flash fic? Poetry? Doesn’t matter, it’s beautiful.

    I’m saying hi to everyone who commented on my success story over at MSFV’s blog. Hi! Your blog – and writing – are wonderful.

  19. July 27, 2012 5:38 AM

    Beautiful as ever.

Leave a Reply

