Skip to content

No Words

August 2, 2012

“I never heard you bitch about the length of her skirt.”

words unspoken

“Manipulation, my ass. That would imply an unwillingness on your part.”

between the lies

“I want an admission of guilt, not a list of justifications.”

swallowed whole

“Apologies don’t end with ‘but she…’”

rebuttals suffocated

”You didn’t lose a goddamn thing you didn’t throw away.”

by impotence and fear

”Yeah, well, Kharma’s a bitch ain’t she?”

but now I’m strong

“Your actions drowned out every word you ever spoke.”

even in my silence

“I hope it was worth it.”

because it takes no words

“Fuck you.”

to walk away

22 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2012 12:58 PM

    I really like this one 🙂 I like the poem between the “lines” It’s cool the way you did that. Bravo 🙂

  2. August 2, 2012 1:05 PM

    Different. I like the way you experimented with form here, straddling the line between prose and free verse. Very economical too: a lot of substance packed into the words. The piece lends itself to being picked apart, each line savored by itself, but also to being enjoyed as a whole. Thanks for sharing this with us.

  3. August 2, 2012 1:31 PM

    I write this after staring at the wall for a very long time. at the floor. at the wall. numb my fingers and my tongue. my ears. this deserves a wider audience, Danielle. it’s really good.

  4. yearzerowriters permalink
    August 2, 2012 3:42 PM

    this is really rather wonderful. I’ve written a whole novella about words thought but unsaid. This gets right to the heart of the matter

    • August 4, 2012 6:15 PM

      Thank you so much for stopping by and taking the time to comment.

  5. August 2, 2012 9:24 PM

    Kind of hope the final words are from a second speaker, and she does simply walk out of this vitriolic nonsense. One ought to hope for a better life.

  6. August 3, 2012 3:31 AM

    Wonderful weaving of poetry and prose. Excellent as always!

  7. August 3, 2012 4:46 AM

    Love the way you’ve woven two stories into one with two different perspectives. Great job Danni

  8. August 3, 2012 9:03 AM

    See. I told you could write poetry. This is really inventive – bitter and vitriolic, but somehow the reader cannot help but try to understand the silent partner in the dialogue (we aren’t told whether it’s remembered or ‘live’) and try to empathise.

    A lot accomplished with relatively few words.

    • August 4, 2012 6:17 PM

      Thanks, TJ, but it’s NOT poetry. 😉

      I like that a reader can interpret things as they wish, but for me it was dialogue the narrator wished she’d said in various conversations.

      • August 5, 2012 1:43 AM

        Ah – thank you for that. I was just going to ask. I read it as the same person but the different thought processes and stages of anger and contemplation we go through in such an emotive situation. Very evocative. I hope she followed her inner strength.

  9. August 3, 2012 12:47 PM

    Whilst the person who is silent has strength in their silence, the speaker has so much power in the words of every line.

    This is a particularly well-written and clever blend.

    Very nice work Danielle.

  10. adampb permalink
    August 3, 2012 5:20 PM

    I went back and reread inbetween the lines to capture the beauty of the poetry. Great stuff, Danni.
    Adam B @revhappiness

  11. August 3, 2012 6:36 PM

    Incredibly poetic!

  12. August 4, 2012 7:08 AM

    Very nice Danni!

  13. August 4, 2012 10:34 AM

    This is heart-breakingly great. Nicely done.

  14. August 4, 2012 5:32 PM

    Beautifully written piece. A treat to read.

  15. August 4, 2012 6:33 PM

    Huge thanks to all for stopping by and commenting. The format was a fun challenge for me this week and I truly appreciate your support.

  16. August 5, 2012 1:16 AM

    There’s a lot going on in this piece – and clearly has been going on for a while now. I loved the interplay between the two – conversations, for want of a better word. You managed to tell all sides of the story – at the same time.

    Nice work.

  17. August 5, 2012 1:54 AM

    A nice marriage of words, that danced together in a rhythm that moved tp a perfect beat.

  18. August 16, 2012 12:22 PM

    I feel like I could re-read this a hundred times and still not catch everything. I’m blown away.

Leave a Reply

